Hajj 2020: Khutbah to be Translated Into 10 Languages including Hausa and English

This year’s hajj is unprecedented due to the outbreak of the pandemic that has temporarily altered human interactions globally. In other protect pilgrims as well as Saudi natives, authorities are compelled to take necessary precautionary measures to prevent or curtail further spread of the current pandemic. The decision to impose restrictions on this on this year’s hajj is to adhere to international protocols in the fight against the deadly virus.

As part of efforts to ensure that Muslims around the world who are unable to embark on the spiritual journey this year, Saudi authorities have doubled the translation of the Khutbah to 10 languages. According to the Chairman of the General Affairs of both the Grand Mosque and the Prophet’s Mosque Sheikh Dr. Abulrahman bin Abdulaziz Al Su-dais, Khutbah on the day of Arafat will be simultaneously translated 10 languages on two broadcast platforms. Below are the ist languages:


  • Bengali
  • Chinese
  • English
  • French
  • Hausa
  • Malay
  • Persian
  • Russian
  • Turkish
  • Urdu

In 2019, Arafat khutbah was translated into five languages including English, Farsi, French, Malay and Urdu. The day of Arafat is paramount as pilgrims gather and offer prayers but also ask for forgiveness for their trespasses and ask for Allah’s endless mercies. It is also referred to as the day repentance; thus, people who are unable to embark on the spiritual journey are required to fast on the day of Arafat. (Not Mandatory).

The Prophet’s last sermon was delivered on the day of Arafat. Hence, pilgrims spend their day listening to sermons from various scholars near mount Arafat. Arafat day falls on the ninth day of Dhu Al Hijja according to the ‘hijri’ calendar.

Credit: muslimnews.com.ng