Death penalty awaits kidnappers in Kano–Ganduje

Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje  has vowed to amend the Penal Code in Kano state to carry death penalty for kidnapping crime.

Mr Ganduje, revealed this on Thursday while inaugurating the 16-man Commission of Inquiry mandated to investigate the abduction and forceful conversion to Christianity of nine Kano children by an Igbo kidnap syndicate.

Kano Focus reports that the Kano Police Command had rescued nine missing children and paraded six Igbo persons who have confessed to abducting the kids, renaming and forcefully converting them to Christianity before selling them in Onitsha, Anambra state.

The governor declared that death penalty is the only befitting punishment for kidnapping, which he said has taken a dangerous dimension in the state.

He described the kidnapping of the nine children as atrocious, adding that it was not Islamic or Christianity but criminality which has to be dealt with accordingly.

Mr Ganduje also donated N1 million each to the parents of the rescued kids and offered scholarship to the children up to university level.

“These children will be rehabilitated. We must rehabilitate them. We must make them continue performing Islamic religion. They will grow in our religion and culture,” he said.

On his part, chairman of the 16-man panel, Justice Wada Umar Rano, called on members of the public to assist the committee with relevant information.

He said the panel would be holding its seating at a Kano state high court at Miller Road, in Bompai area of Nasarawa local government.

Below is the list of the committee’s members:
1- Justice Wada Umar Rano- chairman
2- Alhaji Musa Yahya – secretary
3- Sunusi Ado Magaji –member
4- Ibrahim Abubakar Tofa –member
5- Aliyu Ibrahim Ahmand- member
6- Muhyi Magaji Rimingado-member
7- Mustapha Adamu Aminu -Member
8- Barrister Hussaina Aliyu – Member
9- Mariya Alin Kote- Meber
10- Nasiru Umar –member
11- DSP Abubakar A Shika
12- Umar abubakar-member
13- Abbas Ibrahim –member
14- Muhammad Suraji-member
15- Ibrahim A Wayya –member
16- Samuel Adeyoumi-member