Alban Bagbin elected as speaker of the 8th Parliament in Ghana

Former deputy speaker of the 7th parliament of Ghana and former Member of Parliament for Nadowli-Kaleo, Alban Sumana Bagbin has been declared as the new Speaker of the 8th Parliament of the 4th republic of Ghana.

It has been a series of unsettling confusion after the 2020 presidential and parliamentary elections by the NPP and NDC over who has the majority in parliament and as such should elect a speaker of parliament. However, this confusion was settled today 7th January 2021 as Mr Bagbin polled 138 votes as against 136 for former Speaker Professor Mike Oquaye.

This has caused a serious quake on the side of the NPP as they were not expecting such an outcome. 7th January 2021 will go down in Ghana’s history as a war throb night of drama and confusion. As the parliament house of Ghana was turned into a battlefield with honourable MPs engaging in fights amid a laborious process to select a speaker.

This included soldiers storming the parliament on Thursday dawn to resolve the dispute in parliament. Chaos also erupted as Honorable Carlos Ahenkrah was said to have absconded with the ballot box. Also, the court injunction directed at MP-elect of Assin North, James Quayeson was also defied causing more chaos and confusion.

The drama came to a halt after the outcome of the election results in parliament were declared with Alban Gbagbin as the new speaker of the 8th parliament of the 4th republic of Ghana. NPP MP’s on the other hand looked very disappointed as the outcome of the election sent shockwaves to them.

The first deputy speaker for parliament elected is Honourable Joseph Osei Owusu MP of Bekwai with the second deputy speaker as Honourable Andrew Asiamah.

Source: Faisal Mustapha